All The Rage by Courtney Summers

Untitled

tumblr_nhmsehStvV1u7squjo5_500

~ I cuss a lot in my reviews, so be warned 🙂 ~

Wow. Woah. This book.

This book fucked me over hard and I don’t even know what to feel right now – even though it’s been a few days since I finished reading. This is my first book by Summers, and I’m proud to say that she exceeded my expectations. Her writing is just so raw and powerful. Like, excuse me, please give me your skills?

This book is about a girl named Romy Grey who has been raped by the town’s golden boy and the sheriff’s son. Thing is, no one believes her. She gets bullied in school, gets called names, etc. All because no one likes her family and all because she’s from the wrong side of town. Ha, what brains these townsfolk have.

At the beginning, I was confused as fuck because I didn’t now what the hell was going on, but then as the story progressed I found myself adjusting to Summer’s way of writing. I like how it’s more of a show rather then tell sort of story. I like how we get to see how Romy struggles with everyone, with the world, and how she especially struggles with herself. Romy is a complicated character, and at times I really didn’t agree with her, but sometimes I find myself sympathizing with her and feeling her frustration with everyone who really couldn’t bring themselves to believe her.

Literally, I hated every single character in this story with the exception of Romy, her parents, and Leon. But it was with good reason; all the students and even the adults were just so fucking – ugh – aggravating with the way they thought they knew everything and how they assumed Romy was just the bad guy.

What I really loved about this book was the fact how Romy held herself together. Even with the jeers and the accusations, she really didn’t take shit from anyone. Hell, she wore blood red lipstick and matching nail polish. Next to that, I loved Leon, her work buddy (and, yay, diversity!) He was extremely sweet, kind, understanding, and knew how to be a good friend and never pushed her.

Overall, this book had its flaws, but it makes you feel something when your done with it. It’s thought provoking and and churns your stomach and can sometimes even make you disconnected from reality. The only thing that irked me, and I don’t know if it’s just me, is that the ending felt a bit unresolved.

 

Leave a Reply

